Bereavement benefits

green tea, but others are available!

Benefits rules relating to bereavement  changed in April 2017. If you live in England, Wales, Scotland or Northern Ireland and your husband, wife or civil partner has recently died you may be eligible to receive a bereavement benefit. The type of bereavement benefit that you may get depends on when your husband, wife or civil partner died, and whether they paid National Insurance contributions. Any contributions you have paid do not count towards bereavement benefits that you may receive.


There  are   three   types  of  bereavement  benefit:

  • Bereavement Allowance
  • Widowed Parent’s Allowance
  • Bereavement Payment.

Please click below to download our leaflet on the bereavement benefits and how they work. There is a benefits calculator available at to help you check your eligibility.